Exhibitions

During the 2018 Congress, several exhibitions will be organized including two Members Exhibitions, one on the Congress theme “New Orientalia”, and another one as a space of free expression. In addition, a National Exhibition will showcase local artists and several satellite exhibitions will complement this event.

In parallel to the 2018 Congress, the 2018 Taiwan Ceramic Biennale will being held. This additional event will be the occasion of discovering exceptional ceramics.


 
Members Exhibitions  
Members Exhibitions registration is only for IAC membres. 

REGISTRATION DEADLINE:
until 23:59 Febuary 28th, 2018
Chinese Taipei time (GMT+08:00).
End of registration period

   
  • Thematic Exhibition

Curator of Thematic Exhibition: Director Hsiu-Tzu Wu, New Taipei City Yingge Ceramics Museum

The Exhibition theme of the 2018 Congress will focus on the redefinition and re-examination of the Oriental soul, chi or life-force. Repositioned as the “New Orientalia”—the theme is meant to capture the essence of what constitutes the thousands of years of influence and impact of the Asian temperament and its effect upon our Global perception and interpretation of the Eastern spirit. Artist members will consider three aspects of investigation in their submissions, namely Functionality, Spirituality and Diversity. Functionality addresses the practical and technical aspects of clay encompassing the aesthetics of ritual and use. Spirituality is meant to focus on the intangible but powerful forces of tradition that constitute the inner nature of the culture rather than external forces. Diversity accentuates the interrelatedness of ceramics with multimedia and its crossovers into other aspects of cultural expression. Artists are asked to focus their submissions by interpreting any or all of these three qualities as it relates to the theme of the New Orientalia in their practice and creative perspectives.

  • Exhibition-Free Expression

IAC Members Exhibition that is open to all IAC artist members with no restrictions to content or theme except a size requirement. This unrestricted members’ show is conceived as a fund raiser for the IAC. In that sense, members are invited to donate their work, which will be offered for sale. The sales proceeds of works presented during this exhibition will be donated to the IAC and YCM. After October 28th, 2018, IAC will donate the unsold item to YCM for collection or education purpose only, and upon request by the respective artists, unsold works will be shipped back to the artist. The related costs will be assumed by the respective artists.

There’s no limitation for the theme or the subject matter. All donation pieces will be accepted.

INFORMATION: 
Venue: New Taipei City Yingge Ceramics Museum 1F Sunlight Gallery
Exhibition: Sept. 29, 2018 to Oct. 28, 2018
Address: No.200, Wenhua Rd., Yingge Dist., New Taipei City 239

 


 

National exhibition

“Exploring local contemporary ceramics”

When one talks about the development of local ceramics, s/he usually refers to the China-Japan ceramic exhibition in 1981 that was a significant milestone for the island. Before this event, the ceramic environment was highly influenced by the legacy style due to the Japanese colonization and the Chinese style which ceramicists brought with them as they flew from China. Only a minority of artists who were exposed to the West began developing their own unique style. After 1980, the island became a more pluralistic environment with more oversea returnees indulging themselves into art education and injecting western influences, which took local contemporary ceramics to another level. The exhibition will display different generations of ceramic artworks, inviting viewers to explore the different dimensions of local ceramics.

 INFORMATION: 
National exhibition: Sept. 17, 2018 to Oct. 14, 2018

Venue: International Hall, Art Museum, National Taiwan University of Arts

Address:
59,Sec. 1, Daguan Rd., Banqiao Dist., New Taipei City 22058


 

Satellite Exhibition: Beginning, Trend, Future

In the fall of 2018, art galleries and studios all over Taiwan are invited to curate a series of exhibitions and events in line with the theme of the IAC Congress—New Orientalia.

During the course of our communication about the Satellite Exhibition, we identify with the adherence to art aesthetics of all exhibitors and their imagination of the cities in the future and concern for humanity from their works. The cherry-picked exhibits embody ceramic artists’ memories of and reflection on life.

  We believe that the Satellite Exhibition will not only broaden  the horizons of Taiwanese ceramic artists but also display the elegance and beauty of the ceramic artworks in Taiwan. Let’s get to understand the context of ceramic arts from the exhibitors’ points of view, have fun, and embrace the new lifestyle where ceramic art plays an integral part.

Galleries and Museums list:

in New Taipei City:

1. Spot Handcraft Gallery
2. Fu-Guei Gallery
3. CC Gallery
4. Deco Play Gallery
5. Ivy Arts Gallery
6. Wu Gallery
7. THZ Gallery

in Taipei City: 

1. Gallery Life Seeding
2. mad L Cultural Space
3. Padpanadscha Art Center
4. Kuo Mu Sheng Foundation
5. diida ART BOX
6. Chia-Heng Hsieh’s studio

 

in Miaoli County:

1. Hwataoyao,Botanicen Garden, Ceramic Studio & Wood Kilns
2. Zhunan Snake Kiln

 in Changhua County:

Cheng-Hsun Chen’s studio

in Nantou County:

Shuili Snake Kiln Ceramics Cultural Park

>> CLICK HERE TO GET ADDITIONAL INFORMATION ABOUT THESE EXHIBITIONS (then click on the galleries logos to know in detail their activities)

Expositions

Lors du Congrès 2018 plusieurs expositions seront organisées dont, deux Expositions des Membres de l’AIC. L’une répondant au thème du Congrès « Nouvel Orientalia » l’autre offrant un espace de réflexion libre. De plus, une Exposition Nationale mettra en avant les artistes locaux et plusieurs expositions satellites viendront enrichir cet évènement. 

En parallèle au Congrès, se déroule la Biennale Céramique du Taipei Chinois 2018. Un évènement complémentaire qui offrira un écrin propice à la découverte de céramiques d’exception.

 


 
Expositions des membres  
L’inscription aux expositions des membres est réservées aux membres de l’AIC. 

DÉLAI de remise des candidatures :
jusqu’à 23:59 le 28 février 2018
Taipei Chinois horaire (GMT+08:00).
Inscriptions terminées

  • Exposition thématique

Curateur de l’exposition thématique: M. Hsiu-Tzu Wu, Directeur du Musée de la Céramique de Yingge à New Taipei City

Le thème de l’exposition thématique du Congrès 2018 traitera de la redéfinition et du ré-examen de l’âme asiatique, le chi, dit encore force-vie. Désormais intitulé « Nouvelle Orientalia », le choix de ce thème de ce Congrès a pour but de comprendre l’essence de ce qui constitue les millénaires d’influence et d’impact du tempérament asiatique et ses effets sur la perception et l’interprétation, au niveau international, de l’esprit asiatique. La fonctionnalité se rapporte aux aspects pratiques et techniques de l’argile, en englobant l’esthétique du rituel et de l’usage. La spiritualité s’entend comme les forces intangibles mais puissantes de la tradition qui constituent la nature propre d’une culture, plutôt que des forces extérieures. La diversité met l’accent sur les interconnexions entre la céramique et les autres medias et ses hybridations dans d’autres modes d’expression culturelle. On attend des artistes qu’ils proposent des interprétations de l’une ou plusieurs de ces trois qualités et de la façon dont ce thème « Nouvel Orientalia » fait lien avec leur pratique et leur perspective créative.

  •  Exposition libre

L’exposition libre est ouverte à tous les membres artistes de l’AIC, sans thème imposé. La seule limite applicable est une limite quant à la taille des œuvres. Cette exposition est conçue comme un mode de financement caritatif au bénéfice de l’AIC. Les membres participant-e-s sont ainsi invité-e-s à donner leur œuvre respective, qui fera l’objet d’une mise en vente. Les revenus de cette vente seront donnés à l’AIC et au Musée de la Céramique de Yingge. Passée la date du 28 octobre 2018, l’AIC fera don des œuvres invendues au Musée de la Céramique de Yingge afin d’enrichir ses collections ou à des buts éducatifs. Si les artistes concerné-e-s en font la demande, les œuvres non vendues leur seront ré-expédiées. Les coûts afférents seront à la charge des artistes.

Aucune limitation n’est fixée en terme de thème ou de sujet. Toutes les donations seront acceptées.

INFORMATION: 
Lieu: New Taipei City Yingge Ceramics Museum 1F Sunlight Gallery
Date: Sept. 29, 2018 – Oct. 28, 2018
Adresse: No.200, Wenhua Rd., Yingge Dist., New Taipei City 239

 

 

 

Exposition Nationale

Exploration de la céramique contemporaine locale

Lorsque l’on parle du développement de la céramique dans l’île de Taipei, on fait souvent référence à l’exposition d’art céramique Chine-Japon qui s’est tenue en 1981 et qui a été un événement important. Avant ce dernier, l’environnement céramique local était fortement influencé par le style laissé en héritage par la colonisation japonaise, ainsi que par le style chinois, que les céramistes ont emporté avec eux lorsqu’ils ont fui la Chine. Seule une minorité d’artistes, dont le travail était exposé en Occident, a développé un style propre. Après 1980, l’île s’est davantage ouverte à des pratiques pluralistes, sous l’effet d’artistes autrefois expatrié.e.s et qui, revenu.e.s enseigner en école d’art, ont introduit des influences occidentales, modifiant ainsi la nature de la céramique contemporaine locale. L’exposition mettra en avant différentes générations d’œuvres céramiques, donnant la possibilité d’explorer les diverses facettes de l’art céramique local.

INFORMATIONS: 

Exposition nationale: du 17 septembre au 14 octobre 2018

Lieu: National Taiwan University of Arts, Art Museum, International Hall

Adresse:
59, Sec. 1, Daguan Rd., Banqiao Dist., New Taipei City 22058

 

 


 

Expositions satellites

Liste des galeries et musées

à New Taipei City:

1. Spot Handcraft Gallery
2. Fu-Guei Gallery
3. CC Gallery
4. Deco Play Gallery
5. Ivy Arts Gallery
6. Wu Gallery
7. THZ Gallery

à Taipei City: 

1. Gallery Life Seeding
2. mad L Cultural Space
3. Padpanadscha Art Center
4. Kuo Mu Sheng Foundation
5. diida ART BOX
6. Chia-Heng Hsieh’s studio

 

à Miaoli County:

1. Hwataoyao,Botanicen Garden, Ceramic Studio & Wood Kilns
2. Zhunan Snake Kiln

 à Changhua County:

Cheng-Hsun Chen’s studio

à Nantou County:

Shuili Snake Kiln Ceramics Cultural Park

>> CLIQUEZ ICI POUR OBTENIR DES INFORMATIONS COMPLÉMENTAIRES SUR CES EXPOSITIONS (puis cliquez sur les logos des galeries pour connaitre en détaille leurs activités)